July 28, 2014

July 28, 1914

Almost exactly one month after the assassination of Austrian Archduke Ferdinand (and his wife), most of the Western world entered into what would become known as "the war to end all wars."
The 23 countries involved by the time peace was declared included France, United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, British India, Newfoundland, South Africa, Russia, Italy, United States, Japan, Serbia, Montenegro, Romania, Belgium, Greece, Portugal, Germany, Austria-Hungary, Ottoman Empire, and Bulgaria.

Over 38 MILLION killed, missing or wounded in action.
It redrew the map of Europe and western Asia. It redefined war. It redefined humanity.
It, like all wars, didn't have to happen.

No comments: